College student, don't know how to become a real programmer

Hello everyone,

I’m currently a 19-year old college junior in northern New Jersey whom some people consider to be a programmer. Except I’m nowhere near being able to call myself a programmer. I’m self-taught and I’ve been writing code for many years, but I feel like I know nothing.

I had this realization when I started with web application development 2ish years ago. Beforehand, I worked on developing software, which pretty much only involves writing code. Writing code is what I’m good at, and it was extremely enjoyable. I’d spend entire days programming, and I was (or at least I thought I was) a happy man.

Since then, my interests shifted to web application development, and I was no longer a happy man. Ever since I made the transition, my interest in programming has taken a sharp turn, and began to decline gradually. I always feel like I know nothing and should quit, and this sentiment really discourages me from going any further. I started working on a web application 2 years ago, with an idea that I really liked, but while developing it, I kept learning about things that I didn’t know about before (i.e. API’s, specific HTTP headers, caching, security, etc.) and had to completely start from scratch so many times to the point where I just got rid of everything altogether. This is the problem with web application development - there’s so much more to it than just writing code and clicking “Debug.” You need to know the fundamentals of web applications, which I don’t, and have no clue where I can learn (and I’m not learning anything useful in college relating to that).

And this isn’t just web applications; I found that I don’t know much of the inner-workings of programming languages and other fundamental concepts. For example, if you start talking about the stack and the heap, you would probably lose me very quickly.