I'm considering going on antidepressants, again

Originally posted on my tumblr: I’m considering going on antidepressants, again full text below

One of the principles in the Agile Manifesto is sustainable development: “Agile processes promote sustainable development. The sponsors, developers, and users should be able to maintain a constant pace indefinitely.”`

I have been having trouble maintaining a constant pace. I don’t bring it up much, but in college i was diagnosed with atypical depression. I went on meds for a couple of years. I graduated, I tapered off them, I lived my twenties. I went to China for two seasons, lived in Chico, then Boise. I smoked a bit too much, drank a little too much. I lived my twenties. I quit smoking. I moved to Seattle and got a job, got promoted. I got laid off. I started smoking when I drank and then I started drinking too much. I threw myself into building up a maker space and got dissatisfied when others weren’t dedicated enough. I burned some bridges.

I met my partner, Wendy. We moved in together too fast. We went to visit my brother and his wife in Guangzhou. I got a job maintaining a Rails site. I ended up couch surfing for a couple of months when a roommate situation turned bad. I found a good apartment for Wendy and myself. I got frustrated with that Rails job, so I found a better job.

That was my twenties, that’s till January of this year. Despite having a good job, a nice apartment, a good life, I find myself prone to sadness, frustration, and anger. In early May I visited Portland and got to see some Rubyists at RailsConf. Got to explore the city with Wendy. But I was stressed out and frustrated and exhausted the whole trip. I had a small breakdown over a slow Friday brunch at Kenny and Zuke’s. I was miserable.

I’ve been doing counseling again for the last… Six, maybe nine months. I think it’s helping me communicate how I feel, but I’m not doing great.