6 months in and I already want to quit

I’m glad the forum is back.

Last time I checked in, I mentioned I was let go (illegally but that’s another story) and was about to accept a job offer.

I was worried about the workload. It’s a small team and the company is pretty much run like a startup. I didn’t know if I could handle it but the salary was so much better that I thought I would give it a shot.

Well it turns out my gut feeling was right. It’s been 6 months since I started and I want to quit.

• I have to deal with so many interruptions. I’m a backend developer (ruby, rails) which means that pretty much every issue is somewhat related to my projects.

• Our business has a live mobile app (ios and android) used by 80k+ users and there are always issues to deal with every day. The problem is we don’t have a dedicated group for operations/day to day issues. So sometimes there are issues that need to be addressed right away and I have to put my priorities on hold… which means I’m late.

• I’ve had a hard time meeting my deadlines and I always feel like people are pressuring me to deliver… asking me for time estimates etc. I’ve had to work late many times and in fact I don’t think I’ve had a regular 40hrs work week in 2 months.

• I didn’t take one single vacation day since I joined. I’ve had to delay my vacation because there was simply too many projects to complete.

• They have hired 2 developers recently. One is a junior which means I have to help him out and mentor him. The other one is senior and has not lowered my workload so far. Hopefully he’ll catch up soon.

• I’ve had a hard time coming to the office before 10am and I live very close.

• We use slack and it just doesn’t stop.