A Culture of Depression

I deeply appreciate the existence of this website–it is one of the few forums of its kind, I think. So thank you to the creators and all the people who post and visit. I’ve found it so helpful.

Some background: I’m a programmer in my late 30s with a very scattered resume. I’d say I’ve got close to 10 years of software development experience but not all of it has been continuous, as I was pursuing another major career track in academia (unrelated to tech) that didn’t pan out. I’m currently dealing with another bout of burnout and existential crisis. It’s happened so many times that it feels routine at this point.

I’m posting this to offer a simple point I’ve been thinking about a lot: it’s important to acknowledge that software development is a line of work that inherently exacerbates (or even causes?) mental health issues for a lot of people.

Now, I know this sounds like playing the victim instead of assuming responsibility. But when I look around at how much stress, anger, anxiety, burnout, and depression there is among programmers in general, it’s really hard not to see a general pattern. It’s not purely individual. Here’s a list of common complaints that I’m sure will sound familiar to many:

• People don’t understand technology and make unreasonable demands upon programmers, who are under tremendous pressure to produce quickly and produce “magical” results.

• Technologies change so quickly that it is difficult to keep up-to-date, and employers often don’t recognize that keeping up-to-date takes time and resources. It falls on workers to do this on their own time.

• Employers prefer to hire young people. But it’s not just older folks who lose out. I’ve seen kids out of college who, in a short time, become emotional wrecks because of overwork, ridiculously high expectations, and putting in their own time to stay on track.