Becoming so disillusioned

I quit my job last year on a quest to change career paths and study to become a web and/or app developer. I thought I had it in me… I’ve always been great with computers, I self-taught myself basic coding at 13, and I have always been such a great student (graduated top student in high school and uni). Being that I always excelled at everything, it never occurred to me that I would have such a difficult time with programming. :’(

Here I am, close to one year after quitting my job, and I feel like any advancement, if any, has been minimal. I have a hard time committing myself to studying because lessons get much more confusing & complicated as I progress, and I just don’t understand them. I see other people manage it with more ease, and I don’t have that same ability.

It’s reached a point where I don’t know if this is for me, but I don’t know what else to do in life. I was so sure that development was a great fit for my abilities. Now I’m just anxious, depressed and terrified that I am trying to commit myself to a profession for which I don’t have the skill-set.

Reading through other peoples’ threads here has helped me feel less alone in my fears and personal disillusionment. It always feels like developers around me are so sure of themselves and their abilities and devpressed opened my eyes to the idea that they too have insecurities.

I’m just very stressed out that I may not have it in me. It’s hard to see the ‘finish line’ when I can actually pass through the learning stages and manage to truly code.

It would help if anyone can share their personal stories or experience regarding the initial difficulties of learning development and how they got through it… it would be helpful to hear that it does get better.

Thanks. <3

I’m sorry you’re feeling like that - I’ve been there; it’s rough.