Been feeling better, here's what's been helping

Hey guys,

I have been feeling pretty close to my normal self again and have been very ecstatic about this. I am not sure I can attribute this to one singular thing, but here are the things that I have been doing that I think have worked in combination to pull me through this.

1. Meditation. Just 10~20 minutes a day. I have been doing this for about 2 months now. I am hoping in the long run this increases my overall mindfulness and self awareness.
  2. Exercise. When I hit my lowest point, my exercise regime went to the gutter and I was not working out for weeks. I am back to 4-5 days a week at the gym again.
  3. Medication. Zoloft, 50mg. I haven’t had to crank it up. I have been on it for 2 months now.
  4. TED talks on depression, anxiety, and inspirational talks. These have really helped me question my life goals and figure out where I want to go in life and how I want to live.
  5. Friends and Family. I got closer to a number of friends and some family members with similar problems by talking with them about my issues and listening to theirs and sharing thoughts and tips. Knowing I was not alone helped.
  6. Choice. Knowing I always have the choice to get up and leave at any point in my life (work, home, whatever) makes me feel powerful. Even when I feel my weakest and darkest, I know I am not truly powerless and this helps to keep my anxiety from getting worse.
  7. Pursuing other interests. Programming is my career and also my hobby, but there are other hobbies I was too scared to pursue before because I thought I would take away time from learning how to program. But lately I have decided I cannot let programming be my end all be all, and have started pursuing my other hobbies and have found this to be very enjoyable.