Being hired as a web developer is making me depressed

Hi,

I am depressed. Like severely depressed and I have been for a few years.
I have been on huge doses of Effexor for 2 years.

I have Asperger’s syndrome (high level autism), so because of the problems I have with physically being around people, I used to work as a freelancer from home. I used to be a lot happier working remote even though I HATE web development , but it’s all I can find.

I recently moved to Australia because that’s where my boyfriend wants to live, but I don’t care where I live, so that’s not the problem.
But because I need to look for a sponsorship job and pay rent and everything, I can’t afford to keep on working as a freelancer.

So I had to find a job. And fast.
But all the offers I could find was web development. So what I did is I applied to all those offers despite not having the required skills, and when they would give me an assignment, I would quickly learn the required skill. That’s how I landed a job doing node.js and angular all day without ever having even touched javascript in my whole life.

I don’t have a choice. I need a job and web is pretty much all I can find.
Also, having such a hard time and working so hard to lands jobs I hate and I knew I was going to hate is making me even more depressed. I think the worst part of it was having to deal with recruiters who didn’t understand anything about my work and judge me unfit to do web dev.

So I am currently hired as a fullstack software engineer…
Spending all day doing something I hate is making my depression a lot worse. I feel stuck and underappreciated.
I can’t find a job in what I actually enjoy doing and I am becoming a very angry and bitter person.

I need to build a more solid portfolio in order to be able to land one of the very few positions that still do what I have been passionate about ever since I was a young kid, but I can’t work on my spare time because I am ill.