Bootcamp grad poached by recruiters.. stuck with manual qa. #exestentialCrisis

In 2016 I attended a bootcamp to learn the SANE stack *(sql, angular, node, express). I struggled with depression, adhd, anxiety, and alcohol abuse while I attended. I found my issues to be manageable while I was in school, because I was able to bond with my fellow students. But after I graduated and started looking for a job as a front end dev, I was hit hard by my issues… I felt so useless, such a fraud. Looking at job descriptions and seeing the requirements… my god it felt so hopeless. I was desperate to find a job… a local recruitment company reached out to me and courted me. I had accepted that I would take an entry level job if it was offered to me. The recruiters pitched the position as an “apprenticeship program” but it turns out it’s a contract manual qa position with a two year duration… they dropped that bomb about two weeks into the recruitment process needless to say I was worried. But they worked to disperse my fears by telling me that I would be able to study and transfer into a “development” role.

Cut to 3-4 months into this “apprenticeship”. The company I work for is extremely backward and the opposite of “Startup” culture. It’s a cubicle farm… A java based ie supporting cubicle farm…

I am so bored and drained all day at work. I have no drive anymore… I go home every night and chug straight from my big bottle of vodka. Sometimes I even avoid my girlfriend so that I can just go home and pass out… At work I rely on my adhd meds to keep me focused on pointing and clicking on the screen… I’m not using any of the skills I went into debt for, in fact I’m loosing those skills every day.

I feel incredibly stuck. I would quit this job in an instant if I didn’t have bills to pay. The job pays like shit too…

If you have any advice or have gone through similar situations please comment…

vv disclaimer vv