Can HR help with a toxic manager/co-worker?

Hi there,

Long story short, I’m a web developer and working at a company I really liked where both my manager and team were awesome. No place is perfect but overall the culture was healthy as well with the exception of one person on the team that made a daily routine of complaining how underpaid he is and how much he hates this job. We had gotten used to him and for the most part, let him rant and went about our work. The truth is, neither him being underpaid or the job being “bad” is true. However apparently he has a different perspective on what he deserves and how he felt our projects should be built.

My mother passed away 5 months ago and I was her caregiver through ICU, and then a brief stint with a nursing home before she passed. As you can imagine, it was a very trying time for me and my manager/company worked with me so that I could do what I needed to with my family while simultaneously being able to work when I can. They were so good to me and ever since she passed and I returned from bereavement I’ve been working full time business as usual despite that my anxiety had taken a dive due to the grief.

I was prescribed a low dose of Celexa which has helped me. About 2 months ago, my awesome manager reveals that he’s resigning, therefore leaving behind us, his team that he built. Initially it freaked us all out especially me bc the last thing I needed to worry about is job security but he assured us all would be well. In the meantime, they brought in a new hire to replace him, let’s call him David, that he could transition into the team before he left.

Now the bad apple coworker, let’s call him Bob. The transition period was around 2 weeks where honestly no management of any sort was really happening and Bob therefore took it as an opportunity to well, do whatever he wants. “Finally” now that our good boss was leaving who did a good job at curbing his toxic behavior, it was an opportunity to let loose I guess.