Dealing with anxiety & panic attacks in crunch mode

I work for a web consultancy and we use the Agile process for our projects. Unfortunately, as a front end developer, that means I usually get hurt by “crunch mode” the most. As delays cascade down the line, my timeline shrinks but the deadline stays put (which is not how Agile is supposed to work, I know). I end up having a panic attack at least once during the week before a deadline, sometimes more than once. This is my first time working for a consulting company with so much focus on time and deadlines so I was hoping I’d get used to the stress, but a year later that’s not the case. Just curious if anyone else has this same issue and can offer ways to deal with it. 99% of the time I love my job, it’s the crunch mode part I hate and I worry about the toll it’s taking on my mental health.

Related to this, here’s a good blog post about why we should get rid of this “crunch mode” mentality: http://chadfowler.com/blog/2014/01/22/the-crunch-mode-antipattern.

Yeah, the agile methodology (as I understand it) kind of falls apart if you have strict, immovable deadlines since the whole point is to keep the development cycle fluid and flexible. It’s not fair that it ends up getting piled on you if people earlier down the chain are slow. Slowness / blocks in the first part of the chain should mean (in true agile) a revised deadline and negotiation with the client/stakeholder. Agile, ideally, should MITIGATE crunch mode.