Demotivated newbie learner

I just need to share this with someone.

I started learning to code over the summer. I enjoyed it so much I decided to drop out of business school (which was starting this month) to instead become a web developer. I just didn’t want to spend 6 figures on an MBA and learn a little bit about EVERYTHING in business without becoming a master in anything. I’m in my 30s and a career changer from the helping sector. I’m also a follower of Cal Newport’s teachings to get really good at a skill that is marketable.

So that’s the background. I’m unemployed and learning full time. And I really want to be employed by next June at the latest. I also have money that would have gone to MBA which I decided to use to support a good learning experience for coding.

My issue is in the last week I have lost a lot of motivation and now I’m too scared to learn. Obviously this is increasing my depression. I also realise that being “productive” is a +ve for my self esteem and mood, so this isn’t good at all.

Here’s what I think went wrong: