Depression and clients

TL;DR I’ve been successfully treating my depression for years, but some client interactions are still a trigger. What can I do to cope?

First time posting. Looking for some advice. Diagnosed with major depressive disorder 10 years ago and type 2 bi-polar 4 years ago. I’ve been a full-time developer for almost 3 years and, lately, I feel like my depression is triggered by the same thing: client-induced stress/frustration.

I work for a small agency, which means devs frequently need to engage in 1 on 1 communication with the clients. As anybody who has worked for an agency probably knows, clients can be a nightmare.

For me, it usually goes like this: Client asks for feature in unrealistic timeline, I work on feature, additional requirements creep in, I work more on feature, start to get frustrated, deadline passes, client makes passive aggressive (or, sometimes, just plain aggressive) comment in Campfire or Github issues, I sink into depression, become short with loved ones, become passive aggressive about my job, etc.

Has anybody successfully battled client-induced stress? I would love some advice, or just to know that others can relate.

Thanks

You’re not alone. I’ve definitely been in similar situations as well. For me, the biggest contributor is how non-confrontational I am.