Doing nothing at my first job

Hello. i just stumbled on this site. I’ve been a software dev for around 8 months. I have yet to work on a real project. I’ve either done nothing, programming tutorials, or menial documentation type tasks for all this time and I just dont feel good. I feel empty when I come home everyday. Like I have no value or purpose. Unfortunately I am stuck at this job until I have been here for 2 years. Supposedly I have the opportunity to move horizontally at the 1 year point so I have been holding on to that hope. I just want to do something and use my skills. Im worried I won’t be very marketable when I go to get a new job because this one is essentially giving me no development experience. Any suggestions?

Can you expand on this ? What’s preventing you from interviewing for another job ? Contract problem ?

Yeah sorry, I should have been more clear. If I leave I will have to pay back a hefty relocation package. I have had various major expenses come up, and so paying that back is completely out of the question. Every recruiter/company I’ve talked to has essentially just cut contact with me because there is just no way they are going to pay that cost for me to be able to hire me.

1 Like

Is it possible to work on your own stuff in your free time? Do you have alot of free time at work? Maybe you can work/study the things that interest you while waiting out the 2 years at home or work when possible.

Alternatively maybe speak with your management and explain youd like to take on more involved tasks and see what input they have. Or maybe you have already done that?