Drowning in a sea of experts

I am a developer in my early 40’s. I have been developing for nearly 17 years as a freelancer.
Also, I have bee battling depression. My source of help has been mindfulness meditation. It helps, but I do dip on occasion and fall back into depressive habits. (withdrawn, moody, silent).

I have a family, young kids and a wife.

These past two years especially have been hard, the recession has forced the demand down for freelancers. When I look at the skills in demand, they are all centered around front end technologies, whereas mine are in PHP.

I worked out how much i earnt on my last project, it was just above minimum wage. Despite the late nights and constant reading up on new and emerging technologies in an attempt to stay current.

The upshot of all this is that it is feeding into my worthlessness, and depressive tendencies. I cant provide for my family. I am looking at jobs, the salaries are so poor due to the glut of university graduates, it seems as if experience counts for nothing.

Right now, i feel like my life is circling the plug hole and i dont know what to do. My partner isnt any good at offering support, she is VERY practical, i.e. no room for emotions so i look only for people that understand to talk to.

Hi boobang,

Thanks for sharing. Sorry to hear times are tough right now. I can relate to some of what you are saying, although for me the issue is when I look for new positions they are looking for x number of years in a specific language in order to pay x amount. I have changed languages & frameworks in every position I have had, and have handled the transitions and have the overall experience, but this has limited my options unless I want to take a pay cut.