Electrical Engineer as a Software Developer

Hello,

I am currently studying Electrical Engineering and I recently did an interview for an internship with a software company. Before the interview, they gave me a coding challenge which I successfully finished.

When I started the interview, the interviewer seemed to be impressed of my coding ability and praised the way I tackled the problem. At this point, I felt confident that I was about to land the position. However, the interviewer proceeded to ask me questions specific to Computer Science which are related to the position (terminology, difference between thing A & B). Because I am an electrical engineer, I had no hope of answering these questions. I frantically googled and I did my best but I’m pretty sure I screwed up.

I studied what the interviewer was talking about after and I was eventually able to understand it. I am able to learn really quickly but when I’m asked about some terminology I haven’t learnt, I will probably not know the answer.

I feel pretty sad right now. This has probably happened to me on numerous occasions. I always feel like I’m at a disadvantage in both fields because I do a lot of software development, but I’m majoring in Electrical Engineering. However, I deeply enjoy Computer Science and Electrical Engineering equally. It’s amazing how much resource on Computer Science is available online today. That’s why I chose the less documented Electrical Engineering as my major.

I’m waiting on their reply right now. If you were them, would you accept me? It’s OK if you told the truth (pros & cons are highly welcomed). I just want to get opinions from more experienced people so I don’t obsess over it for weeks. This way, at least I will get an idea of what my reply will be.

Thank you.