Experienced Developer Being Treated Like a Newbie

I have followed Devpressed for a while and have enjoyed reading everyone’s stories. That might sound like a strange thing to say: “enjoyed”, but it is nice to know that I’m not the only one that gets down in the dumps or frustrated with our industry.

I really need to let off of some steam and tell my story. Everyone has a story.

In the Beginning

I graduated with my Bachelor’s in Computer Science around 10 years ago, but it wasn’t easy. Before becoming a Comp Sci. major, I was a music major and majored in two instruments. Music has always been my passion and what I thought I would be doing with my life. I was very talented and enjoyed expressing myself through music.

It is weird to be writing this now, 10 years later, still having a bit of uncertainty regarding my career. I am, I feel, unlike a lot of people in our field in that I am an INFJ, or INFP depending on the day. In other words, I am introverterd, intuitive, feeling, and judging most of the days.

I am a highly sensitive person.

Sorry for going on a tangent like that. Anyway, when I was a comp sci major, I had several teachers tell me that I could never make it in computer science and that I needed to go back to music.

I even made some plans at one point to switch back to music, but by that point I was a few semesters away from graduating. I stayed and graduated with a lowly 3.0 GPA. I’m usually a 3.5 and above type of student.

I even stood up in class one day and proclaimed that everyone in there was a bunch of dorks and nerds. I felt like I didn’t and wouldn’t belong with a bunch of computer people.

I constantly felt like I didn’t belong.

Five Years Later