Failing developer

Hi Guys,

I’m new here, my name is Kevin, I’m 32 and I live in London. I been coding for about 5 years and I’m really desperate to get a game developer role, currently I’m a Tester Consultant :frowning:. I personally think my game dev theory is pretty good but when it comes down to actual coding I seem to fall apart. I have no problem understanding tutorials and replicating them but find I can’t actually take what I learnt and turn into something I want to create. Recently, I have moved towards Load and Performance testing for my job (writing a lot of Unit Tests at the moment), but its so boring and not what I want to do.

I feel like I have no originality and unable to create anything by myself. I have 20 or so personal projects that I have half started and never finished due to various reason. Reasons vary from ‘not being able to understand a new concept’ to ‘just being plain disgruntled and cba’. I don’t really have any immediate friends that are programmers, so I have no one to collaborate with.

I am currently part of an indie team involved in the development of a mobile game but over the last year I have found that I have slipped from developing features to sharing a repository access with one of the designers as a tester. I’m so guttered but I really want to be that person, admittedly I have to juggle my full time job at the sametime, I feel like crying almost. The straw that broke the camels back was several months ago, I got told by the Lead Dev that I was crap. Apart from Unit tests, I don’t think I have coded anything personal since, I have literally lost the confidence to touch my keyboard and coded.