Feel like I'm not good enough anymore

I just found this site last night. It was a relief to see that I’m not the only developer that struggles with depression. It’s really interfering with my work life as well as my personal life.

I graduated from college in 2003, with a 4.0 GPA, top of my major. I chose user interfaces as my area of interest, and for the past ten years I’ve enjoyed a successful career. I have a very comfortable salary, a nice house and plenty in savings.

In the past few years, though, I’ve started to feel like my knowledge has been lagging behind the curve. It gave me such anxiety that I have a hard time learning new things now.

Then, back in July, I had somewhat of a breakdown and fell into a major depressive episode. Worst I’ve felt in my entire life. I went on short-term disability from work and went to an outpatient treatment program for six weeks.

I’ve been back at work for almost 3 months now, and things just haven’t been the same. I feel that my design, problem-solving, and coding skills just aren’t what they used to be and I am now in constant fear of falling behind and losing my job, losing my house, losing everything.

I’ve been on various meds for over 10 years, and I’ve been going to therapy now for about a year. So far I haven’t made much progress. I was on Paxil for about 10 years for my anxiety, then this year I switched to Celexa, which didn’t help. Switched to Prozac, which had some bad side effects, so then I switched to Zoloft which is what I’m on now. I’m not sure how much it’s really helping.

Has anyone else out there gone through anything similar? I feel like my career is at its end and I’m terrified. I just want to be a good coder again.

Sounds like you are experiencing something usually described as “imposter syndrome” which can be both a symptom and cause of depression, often forming a vicious circle.