Feeling like a failure

I’m 24 and graduated with a degree in computer science last May and have been unable to find a job. I left home after I graduated,since I stayed to go to school, to show I could do it on my own. That even with the serve A.D.D and anxiety and depression I could do it and will be fine but as I lay here at 5 in the morning I feel like I failed everyone and I just want it all to end. All my family is worried for me and I hate that cause I don’t want them to have to worry.

I lay here wondering if I would even be able to handle a programming job, am I actually any good. The anxiety and A.D.D make me worry that they will be the cause of me losing any job I get. Question whether I should be on any meds for them.

I feel like I don’t remember anything I learned, I feel like I’m a horrible programmer.I don’t know what I’m doing anymore and I just want it all to stop

The anecdote that I’ve always given is: network. I was 25 and had no college degree. My big break was networking with other programmers in the area. Go to meetups or conferences (I lucked out in that a conference actually was held in my relatively small city), get your face out there. “So where do you work?” is a question that will pop up if you’re a new face. And when you say you’ve been trying but haven’t found anything, this may very well lead to something. What I can say didn’t work was throwing resumes/applications at jobs I found online. I can’t say for certain that this will work for you, but I wish I could have gone back in time and told my 21-year-old self to network more.

Nah. This is a textbook depression symptom. Failure is a state of mind. If you’re still fighting then you haven’t failed.

There is a chicken/egg discussion of if you’re depressed because you feel like you failed, or if you feel like you failed because you’re depressed. In my experience it’s neither & both, the two feelings feed off of each other.