Feels like I've wasted 3 years of my life

So I’m a rising senior in college majoring in computer science and I feel like I haven’t learned a single thing since being here. I feel like i’ve wasted part of my life chasing this degree. I used to be excited about coding when I first started, but now I absolutely hate it. I can put up with c++ but I can not stand java I hate it. I’ve taken this class 3 times and can not pass to save my life. I feel like I’m never gonna be good enough to get anywhere with this degree because almost all jobs want to you be excellent in Java and sadly😢 I can’t. Also I hate looking at job listings because whenever I see the qualifications it’s just a long list of stuff that I’ve never heard of before. I thought college was supposed to prepare you for the Career that you want but I just feel like I’m only one year away from saying I have a degree now do you want paper or plastic.

I know this is all over the place but I’m just venting sorry

I was in your place 2 years ago. Chin up; it gets better. Employers always put their wildest expectations on job postings but are usually willing to compromise, especially because it would result in a lower salary. There are tons of other jobs that require other languages. C#, Python, Php are some big ones. Just get through school. Once you graduate and get a job, no one really gives a shit what your gpa was or where you even went to school, really. The American educational system is in dire need of reformation. What college says to your employer is that I’m willing to work 4 years so that I can work for you for 30.

Hi Duke,

Firstly, doing a degree will help you out in the future with tech companies, although it’s not strictly required. I’d keep it up by keeping yourself interested enough outside of it, time permitting. Maybe start a project, get some feedback and learn from people who are already working in the industry. From my experience this helps more than formal education.