Grad school advice?

I know this isn’t really what the forum is for, but maybe it’s still valid? I’ve been doing much better. I’m a new dad and still somewhat of a newlywed. Things didn’t go according to plan, but hey, life happens. Anyway, I’ve been working as a developer for about 9 months. I’m getting more comfortable. My undergrad is in Management Information Systems. I start to delve into grad school possibilities from time to time. Today is one of those times. I probably should get my masters in CS, but it’s intimidating as hell. I would probably have to take prerequisites before even starting the program. I couldn’t cut it when I originally started as a CS major, but that was some 5 or 6 years ago. I’d like to think that I’ve grown and would be able to handle it better simply from a difficulty stance. My other option of course is to go for an IS or IT degree. It would be more in my wheelhouse, sure, but I’m a developer. I don’t yet have a clear vision or where I want to go. I suppose something in the C-suite would be ideal. I think it’ll probably be a few years at least before I apply what with new baby, loans, mortgage etc. I just want to be awesome at what I do. Thanks in advance.

I’m not sure what your particular question is, but let me see if I can be helpful. If you’re looking into a Masters program as a way to get a better job (rather than because you want to be an academic) you should probably go for the most prestigious program you can find. Today, that is probably a CS degree from a well-known and respected program. The next question is how do you get into and successfully complete such a program?

Unfortunately, I can’t give you any advice about how to get into such a program, it probably varies from program to program anyways. So let’s talk about how you could go about successfully completing such a program. You seem to have already given this some thought and have a good idea of your circumstances, so let’s work from there.