Has Anyone Thought of a Career Change?

I chose computer science because it was offered a college close to home. I graduated from a jr college with an associates in arts before getting into computer science. I was originally going to be a band director or something related to music at least.

I pretty much resisted my choice of computer science all through college. It was like I was fighting myself.

Anyway, my father did blue collar work all of his life, and it was kind of expected that I would follow-suit (though my father is definitely glad I got a college degree). I have been looking up blue collar jobs to see if any would interest me and would be similar in pay to what I make now.

One thing that seemed interesting to me, but probably very hard on your body, is HVAC or plumbing (though plumbing is a really dirty job). That would require vo-tech classes and/or an apprenticeship. The only reason I thought of it is because there aren’t really any tech jobs in this area.

I am decent at plumbing and like to work with my hands. I do enjoy the outdoors more than sitting at a desk all day in a cubicle, staring at code. To me, that’s incredibly boring. For some reason even talking about it doesn’t really interest me as much as it does others.

For the past 3 years or so, I figured I was either in the wrong career or burned out, or both. My wife won’t let me change careers, so its not really an option, though.

One of the places I applied pays their DBAs (i’m not a DBA right now, but thinking about doing DBA work for the experience and I am pretty good with databases) a minimum of 28k or so a year. I figured, heck, if I’m going to take that large of a pay cut (it would be more than a 30k pay cut), I may as well change careers altogether.

Just curious what you all think.

I’m in the same boat.

I’m between jobs right now and tomorrow I have a 2nd interview.