Have you ever quit because of stress/anxiety?

I’ve been working at this job for 11 months and I’m thinking of quitting constantly.

I’m a senior dev on a project that’s giving me terrible stress and anxiety. I just can’t seem to keep it together. I don’t sleep well and even though my psychologist keeps telling me to not do so much overtime, exercise etc … I just can’t adjust.

I’m wondering if some of you have quit your job without another one lined up. I have enough savings to be on my own for about 2 months.

Any of you guys have been in a similar situation?

I have been working for myself for a long time, but when I was younger and worked at a series of random jobs, there were a couple of times that I had to quit in order to avoid losing my mind, even though I had no other job lined up or much savings. I was lucky to have friends and family, and eventually SSI, to help me out at the time. If I did not, I probably would have ended up homeless because there was no way I could have kept working.

2 months savings may be enough to have a break and regroup and hopefully find a new job that is less stressful. Good luck, whatever you decide to do!

1 Like

A few years ago, yes. I was in a particularly bad job in a very toxic environment. I had to get out and probably waited too long before I did. Stress & anxiety was already eating away at my soul. I landed a new job (I wasn’t too picky), but the relief of having left my old job was immediately replaced with a different, but comparably hopeless situation. That’s when anxiety really hit hard.