How can I be more creative?

The company I work for is trying to promote creativity and innovation on the team by having us work one day a month in some project of our own, but for the benefit of the company and its products. I’m always at a loss for what to do! I don’t know if it is lack of imagination, lack of knowledge of the product or lack of knowledge and experience as a programmer (I’m a junior engineer working mostly on fixing bugs and implementing small features), but I can’t come up with a good idea that is also attainable, and I’m beginning to feel like a real loser. I’m good at my job, but not being able to come up with ideas is making me doubt myself big time.

1 Like

I think it’s a good initiative by your company but what are the expectations ? Is it a hackathon-like type of day where you’re supposed to demo something ? Can you team up with other devs or is everyone expected to submit a project outline ?

Not really a hackathon. In fact, so far it has very little structure. It’s been going on for a few months but not much has come out of it.

We are supposed to have this one day each month for a few months to work on our project. We are supposed to announce beforehand our idea and I think we can team up with someone but very few people have submitted anything and the very few things submitted don’t feel like a good fit for me. We were supposed to have a show and tell a month ago, but it never happened.

I feel like I should be able to come up with some great idea, but I can’t and to make things worse the manager that started this has recently put me on the spot by comparing me with himself and other co-workers that “have ideas”. He told me not to feel bad if I’m one of those people that doesn’t have ideas of his own and simply execute other people’s ideas. That really hurt. :frowning:

Maybe it’s a sign that I’m not good for this? What can I do? Even thinking about side projects and pet projects is difficult. How to get the creative juices flowing?