How do i even get a job when i need X amount of experience?

Im 25 i have a degree in interactive media and i have been unemployed since i left university aside from the occasional freelancing work (that i’m drastically under paid for due to my lack of self esteem or assertion) .
I got a job at minimum wage as a php developer , even though i repeatedly told them i haven’t written a line of PHP in 2 years , i was told i would be retrained, i wasn’t so then basically laid me off three days later.
Then tried finding junior , unpaid or intern work but i just get flat out no’s , my job advisory says i have to show examples of my work , however i literally have nothing because i am god awful at design.

Basically i’m screwed i have no belief in my own ability anymore, i am a terrible designer and every local business is either making thier own website using those free services online or they have already paid someone who clearly just a marketing company that has wordpress.

I know how it feels. It seems like everywhere I go the minimum amount of experience (well, in my country definitely), is 4 years of continuous work, so I don’t know how CS university graduates even get jobs here. As far as I know, though, if it’s mid sized companies they will have their own designers. I’m also terrible at design, but I’m busy putting up several coding projects on my GitHub account to try and build up a portfolio so interviewers can see the quality of the code I produce.