How do you work when you can't think?

Hi. I am autistic and am wondering what other autistic people or people with similar cognitive difficulties do when there are too many things going on at once.

I am a freelancer and often have times where all of my clients want things at once. The emails start pouring in and I get very overwhelmed to the point where I get so confused that I can not think at all. This results in me getting less work done than I could if my brain were cooperating.

There are things I can do to feel better at the moment, but it all happens again when I need to start working again. I use project management software which helps a lot, but not enough.

I am wondering if anyone has suggestions on how to run a business while having extreme difficulty with business/client management, concentration, focus, confusion, and other daily annoyances related to having a brain that does not cooperate.

I’m not on the spectrum (as far as I know) so I can’t speak from that perspective, but I’ve been diagnosed with ADHD several times throughout my life and have experienced a lot of what you describe. For me, it’s a complete inability to focus on any of the tasks that I need to get done regardless of whether I’m under pressure or not. I can sit down and make a todo list of 5 things and not accomplish a single one because my mind starts wandering to other tasks. Once I realize I’m not getting anything done, I start to get anxious and lose what little focus I had. It becomes paralytic.

For me, breaking my todo list into smaller chunks helps. I only put 3 items on my plate at a time. I wrote some software that would randomly select 3 things for me so I didn’t have to put much thought into it. To be perfectly honest sometimes seeing how many things were on the list was enough to make me uninterested in the list – 3 things is MUCH more realistic. Even if I know other things are lurking beneath the surface, 3 is manageable for me.