How to get a career as a developer when depressed?

Hello all im so happy to have found devdepressed!

Im 28 years old an aspiring programmer from the San Franscico Bay Area who has struggled with moderate (dysithmia) depression for ten years. I graduated from a UC school in 2012 with a natural science degree. Fast forward to today its been nothing but frustration and regret in search of work. I decided to go with my passion which is software development and leave my natural science degree behind.
Its been a year and now Im still at home with my parents. Embarassed and ashamed.

Ive currently been studying hard everyday in the hope I could attend a coding bootcamp but realistically knowing the cost I dont think i could afford it. Ive been turned away from a lot of developer jobs and jobs in general due to my lack of experience. And when it comes down to knuckling down and learning code, im all over the place easily distracted, an indecisive mess and questioning my own intellect as I struggle trying to solve programming problems. I know its going to take time to get started in web development and I just started getting treatment for my depression two months ago. Im now on 150mg of sertraline and things are up and down but im determined to be consistent with my meds.

My question is how did you make it in this field? And what advice would you reccomend to somebody who is recovering fom depression and is just starting out in the field. Programming is the only thing I can see myself doing long term, the only thing I see as fun and not a job. But im afraid im going to squander my chances and revert to my old self. Im afraid I wont be able to make the funds to attend a boot camp and that ill struggle if I try to learn the material on my own.

1 Like