I am not a good programmer and I can't help it

I have been an average person my whole life. I have always wanted to excel at something but that has never been the case.

At 18 years old, I still had not figured what to do with my life, had no interests, no hobbies, no nothing, and decided to study computer science. I did not had any trouble with it, but again I never did anything noteworthy. Nonetheless I managed to go through some internships and some junior developer jobs with ease and life was not great, not bad, just right.

Now at 27 years old I am at a loss because I donā€™t feel like I know what I am doing with my life anymore. I see most good developers are not lazy laid back dudes like me who feel sorry for themselves, but a force in overdrive capable of anything. I just donā€™t have that in me.

I did not code at 8 years old, wrote a framework, designed my own game or even finished a Sudoku puzzle. This is the moment where someone says ā€œyou should not care for other peoples achievements and focus on yoursā€ but that is not even possible today. Being excellent is no longer the exception, is the rule. I can not land a job after 6 months of search. I have a pristine CV, got certifications and 5 years of experience, but noone cares about, all they want is to see my code in github.

And the real issue is, when I try to even think about building something to show off, I canā€™t do it. I have never had that spark of imagination and/or incentive in me. I sit for hours in front of my IDE to end up throwing my laptop on the floor and crying myself to sleep.

I just feel so broken due to the fact that I have never been able to do anything in my life without someone else telling me to do it.