I feel so stupid sometimes

I am Non CS graduate and a self taught programmer but I feel I can never get over the beginner tag. Sometimes I see code written by people on github and I feel so stupid on knowing just the basics. My job is not programming though I was hired as a developer. I have applied to hundreds of jobs but no one replies. I feel inadequate and depressed , even kids can code better than me.

1 Like

Right there with you, brother. I have an MIS degree; sort of a poor man’s CS degree as far as programming is concerned. Programming is hard. People know that and many companies won’t risk investing in training. My advice would be to stay the course, persevere, keep doing what you’re doing. Keep looking at good code. Use your resources. Stackoverflow may as well by my homepage. Again, people know how hard it is though they may act like its not. No one immediately understands everything. I’m trying to take my own advice here as a novice programmer myself. Shit’s tough but, at the end of the day, programming is just logic; a puzzle. Understand the task, all the pieces, and put it together. Much easier said than done, of course, but stay the course and you’ll get to where you want to go. Good luck. We’re all here to help.

2 Likes

Are there particular technologies you like working in? Have you considered enrolling in some courses for those technologies? I found it easier to go deeper into Web technologies (for example) by enrolling in some online courses about them rather than trying to Google it all on my own. This also helped to keep me less anxious and depressed (at the time).

1 Like

Thanks. I will try my best.

I have tried the online courses and it seems easy until you start on your own. Maybe I am a little dumb :smile:

Oh definitely. Starting my own project from scratch is one of the hardest things to do and I fail often. What I’ve been doing now is rotating projects and focus of studies in order to keep my motivation up. It’s working okay so far.