I'm supposedly a senior software engineer, but I don't feel like it

How can I have so many years of experience yet be so lacking in skill?

I’m 33 years old, been doing Java & JavaScript development for 12 years. I know the languages well enough and if given a specific task I can code a solution. I’ve always had a job since I graduated from college and have always done well in performance reviews.

But I feel I’m severely lacking in skills like design patterns, architecture, and other big-picture type stuff. I don’t know how to build large-scale systems. I live in fear that the day is going to come where I get assigned something I won’t be able to deliver on, and the house of cards that is my career is going to come crashing down.

I once read someone comparing someone with 10 years of experience vs. someone with 1 year of experience 10 times. I feel like the latter.

I try to read books and articles to fill the gap, but I get overwhelmed with information overload and have a hard time learning the stuff.

Am I totally screwed? What level of skill is a senior software engineer with 12 years of experience supposed to have?

I don’t have any other marketable skills, so software engineering is my one and only shot. I love the work. I love writing code. I’m just deathly afraid that I’m a fraud and won’t last much longer.

To make matters worse, I just started a new job as a Senior Software Engineer about a month ago. I feel like I’m in way over my head. I have yet to really be productive because there is so much I don’t know about how the code is organized, how everything ties together, etc. I’m feeling scared that this is the beginning of the end for me.

4 Likes

Part of me thinks it’s because I’ve had 10 years of piddly jobs where I barely got to do anything interesting. So I have worked for a decade, but I don’t have strong skills in patterns, architecture, and scaling applications.