Inadequacy and no creativity

Hi, I feel so inadequate, im in my first year of university (UK), I have been trying to program for 2 years before uni, but i made the decision to become a java developer, im not too bad at it, I understand OOP, threads, JDBC - trying to learn J2EE and other Java core API’s but I feel like everything i’ve learnt doesnt matter because all I read is books and watch video tutorials and I practise the same things over and over again but I dont feel like thats good enough for real junior dev jobs or at all to increase my skill. I enjoy reading code and learning it on tutorials and writing it out at the same time to understand the concept but I cant program without a real objective e.g. programs my uni asks me to do for my assignments, im not sure if you (viewer) get what I mean. Like if you work professionally, your boss gives you a task, I could do that with my boss asking me to do a task, but if I were to try and do something in my spare time I couldnt do anything except for learning more and practising stuff I already know.

im scared to fail in university especially at programming even though im not bad at it, im so desparate to become a software engineer/java developer, Im trying to learn so many other things (unit testing, apache maven, git, android dev, xml, javascript) so that i can meet what employers want when jobs are advertised.

all this trying to be this and that developer is so tiresome, im getting depressed from university because i’ve probably got 1 teacher there out of a few who is literally helping me, he has become a role model and I dont want him to think I dont know how to do this and that and look pathetic, he even offered me a place in a programming competition but im scared I may not be good enough against other teams or my team members.