Javascript Makes me Reconsider Everything

I’m a newbie, and have been (attempting) to code since October 2015, and I’ve been mostly studying on Codecademy, and Free Code Camp.

At first, I was feeling great with HTML, CSS and even some Ruby, but my confidence completely shattered when it came to Javascript. Even after months of trying to study, I still feel like I don’t get it. After fighting through Free Code Camp, not only did I feel incredibly stupid, but got frustrated to the point where I almost threw my computer at the wall.

As of now, I’m taking a small break from Free Code Camp.

My goal is to be a Rails Developer, but after having so much trouble with just Javascript, a part of me wonders if it’s even worth it, if I even have a chance at getting into the industry.

While this was mostly to vent, if anyone has any great resources for Javascript beginners, let me know. Any help is appreciated.

Hi there. I feel your javascript pain. Have you been able to identify the parts you are struggling with? The bits I struggle with are what ‘this’ refers to and predicting the order of execution in NodeJS code. This is aftet 10+ years as a pro web developer. JS is a secondary skill but I have been trying to improve it recently.

Try and identify what it is you are not ‘getting’ and hopefully we can help :slight_smile:

P.s many people will tell you that JS is a real mess of a language and this is partially true. Now that the ES6 version is here, its a good time to be learning as some of the weirdness has been addressed.

Hey, thanks for replying!

I feel better knowing I’m not the only one struggling with Javascript. And it makes me feel less stupid to hear that veteran developers have trouble with it.

Maybe it’s because I’m still a newbie, and everything looks weird to me, but I have trouble with the overall syntax and knowing what commands to use. Functions and if/else seems to be especially difficult for me to grasp.