Looking at websites/apps and feeling inadequate

I do this a lot. I’ll be using a website, or an app on my phone or something, and I’ll feel like a failure and think “I couldn’t write this!” Does this happen to anyone else?

Absolutely. I think it’s a very common experience to struggle with comparing other work to my own.

I’m a jazz musician, and up until college, was the best or one of the few best musicians in my circles. I’d done well enough, my parents and I decided I should go to UNT to study jazz. University of North Texas has one of the best jazz programs in the world. Their school bands have been nominated for Grammy awards before and all that crazy stuff. Norah Jones was a recent attendee before she went big.

When I showed up, for the first time in my life I was exceedingly average, at best. I couldn’t walk past practice rooms without hearing tidbits of amazing stuff all around. It was very intimidating.

But, over time, one of the best lessons I learned was that there are many, many facets to an individual’s worth, even when merely talking from an external POV. So-and-so may have amazing chops, but they’re a jerkface. So-and-so here may have mastered 2 instruments, but they can’t show up on time for a gig.

I see the same sort of thing in the NFL and pro sports - there are a few crazy talented people who can get away for a while with being really selfish, but the most beloved players, and typically the most successful over the long haul are those who just have their talent as one facet of their person, and realize with humility that talent alone does not a worthy person make.