My self-worth is tied to my skillset and job title

I love programming. I love writing code and have loved it ever since I got my first taste of it in college. So of course, I decided to pursue a career in it. But I cannot stand the industry and the attitudes of other developers. In this industry, your value is explicitly tied to your skillset and your job title. It creates a living hell for me.

I have struggled with depression my entire life. When I first discovered programming, I immediately fell in love: “This is what I want to do with my life!”. And what’s more, it is the one thing that I’m good at. So of course it is the career path I went down. But after graduating, I’ve found that despite the fact that I graduated from a prestigious university with a 4.0, employers and other professionals just don’t care. “Okay, but do you know Spring?” “Can you solve this problem in less than 15 minutes?”

I spend my days working my job, being one of the most productive members on my team, but I’m labelled a “Junior Developer” because I don’t have Spring or Docker on my resume, and I’m not allowed to work on our projects using those things because I don’t already know them. I am excluded from conversations and perpetually stuck at the kid’s table because of my job title. I am given only the busy work to do, but any actual work that might help develop my skillset is given to the ones who already have those skills.

So, I spend my nights studying this technology or that technology, Docker, Spring, Angular, Kubernetes, because clearly it’s never enough. But it’s not good enough - my skillset is never enough, and my job title has doomed me to being viewed as the “inexperienced moron” at work.