My story lives on

I don’t know when it all started.

There was a point where I remember a darkness draping over me. It was at the Oakland Coliseum at an A’s game when I was about 13. The closest I can get to describing it is the scene from Wall Street when Gordon Gecko is in the locker room and the whole scene just goes dark in an ominous manner. It hasn’t left since.

I don’t know the cause. I often think maybe there’s something in my childhood I can attribute it to; or blame.

My dad is an engineer. He started out in Electrical Engineering, and decided to switch to the newly created field of Computer Science. I didn’t want to do what he did.

I was a poor student. When I was in first grade I was reading at a high school level. I was denied entry into the GATE program for having a messy desk. I didn’t play sports. I played Star Raiders and Zork on my dad’s Atari 800. I input basic programs from the back of computer magazines.

There was a time when I didn’t sleep much for a year. I’d stay up all night and maybe get an hour or two of rest a night. I felt alone.

I was held back. Sentenced to serve another year in the 6th grade. As a consolation I was allowed to be a crossing guard. It turned out to be a good thing. My teacher allowed me freedom from the structure of the normal classroom and I thrived. I was the popular/smart kid for a year. The most popular girl in the 6th grade was also my girlfriend. I went to all the parties. She signed my yearbook “Love Jennifer”, then scratched out the Love and put something else instead.

At 12 we moved. Although it was only 30 miles away it was an absolute culture shock. I was the popular kid about to become the kid that was beat up for wearing “Zaps” shoes. They were hightops a letter “Z” that you could pull off and change the color. They attached with Velcro.