Need advice after a soul crushing technical interview

I just finished a technical phone interview with one of the big tech companies and as soon as it ended I burst into tears. From the first question right until the end all I wanted to do was cry and hang up. The interview has left me feeling inadequate and stupid.

I’m a senior software engineer in my early thirties and was one of the high performers at university. I write software in my spare time, and love programming. I’ve even written a couple of popular libraries hosted on GitHub.

I also have ADHD which makes it really hard to talk about subjects without mixing up details or saying things in the wrong order. When I was asked about my experience, I had to back track because I forgot an important detail; with the technical questions, I mixed up related concepts. Another characteristic of ADHD is to not being able to control what you say, so sometimes thoughts are spoken and then you try and stop yourself.

Some soul-crushing moments of the interview:

• Have you worked on the project your describing? (I work on it daily)
  • Have you ever used relational databases?
  • This is common knowledge.

The last comment was about linked lists. I described a linked list as a data structure where each node contains a reference to the next, then for some reason I said it was stored in an array. I know it’s not stored in an array. Confusion ensured and it didn’t get much better.

At the end I asked some questions but was only doing it to check the technical interview things-you-should-do box. I wanted to know the answers before the interview, but I felt so defeated I didn’t even hear the answers.

I came here because I feel awful and was hoping someone could offer some advice on how to move on from this.

1 Like