New to dev, programming

I graduated a year ago and after working for peanuts for 5 months, I landed a sweet .net gig that pays pretty damn good. Everyone knows I am ‘new’ and I’m ‘learning’ and I get a lot of help from my mentor when he has a second (which is rare). Ive suffered from depression and just an overall pessimistic attitude since middle school. A positive outlook just seems to elude me though I wish I could change it. Im constantly in fear for my job and with a child on the way, it makes it worse. On top of that, we use pseudo-agile so there is a pretty strict schedule and a ton of accountability which adds to my stress. Most days I come home defeated and I know my wife has to be tired of hearing about it, but she can always tell. I guess it’s just nice to know I’m not the only one.

2 Likes

I feel you man. I constantly feel like I’m just waiting to be fired. And strict deadlines don’t help. I never feel like I’m good enough so definitely fighting those feelings is a challenge.

Looks like the pattern in this community is that Agile is terrible. We can’t have immovable deadlines. Things happen, especially in development, that are out of our control so we have to be able to move deadlines or have more people added to the project to help out versus throw it all on the current people working on it.

I know with a child on a way, it’s not ideal, but if an environment like this is stressing you - maybe you can look into other opportunities on the side?

I also try to constantly communicate with the managers. Any blockers, anything that comes up that affects the deadline, I tell them right away. Don’t feel like you’re a super hero and somehow you can “figure it out” by fitting a 20 hour task in 5 hours or something. If you’re falling behind, it’s better to let them know early.