Panic Attacks and feelings of inadequacy

Hello,

I studied Computer Science and Engineering in college. Got a job right out of college doing product/technical support for an IBM i company. The technologies at work were not ones I was familiar with at all and the nature of the support position meant that I was doing many different unrelated tasks (I was also put on customer projects and some internal dev). There was also not much in the form of formal training or pair programming, and there are not any code reviews. I’ve been at this company for a little over 3.5 years now and was recently moved into a developer position. However, I feel like my first 2.5-3 years I haven’t learned much related to the job technologies and haven’t advanced myself as a developer at all (on my own time I have been studying front end development for the past 7 months but I still find my skill in that area lacking). This year through a series of events at work, I realized that I have anxiety or panic disorder and I have been feeling like I am a terrible developer and very inadequate. These feelings continually trigger my anxiety and panic attacks and the cycle continues. I am seeing a therapist but I feel like alot of the traits from the successful developers at this company and others are traits I do not possess. These guys love to code in their spare time and even in the middle of the night sometimes and can literally get any problem solved in any language in very quick turnarounds. I feel like it takes me forever to pick stuff up and understand it, and I miss little details from being distracted or anxious. Do any of you feel this way? How do you cope with it? Does it go away with experience? Are any of you dealing with anxiety or panic disorders because of these feelings? Just looking to hear that I’m not alone, or that someone in a similar position previously eventually figured it out…

Thanks for reading.

Same here.