Procrastination and guilt, should I quit?

Hey everyone, I would like to share my story and ask you for advice.

I learned the fundamentals of coding using an online tutorial in the summer before my studies started. Thus, I was not a complete beginner when I took the first programming course at university. Being among the best students motivated me, and I worked hard to write the best exam. In the process, I discovered that I really enjoyed helping other students complete their assignments and understand Java.

I got a job as a tutor. After one semester though, I took a break because of my social anxiety when speaking in front of other people. I felt that I was bad at my job because I was rarely prepared and procrastinating to correct students’ assignments.

The following semester, I sometimes assisted a friend of mine who was also a tutor. Most of the time, we did the exercise courses together and were lucky to have a group of very warm, forgiving students. I slowly built confidence in my teaching ability.

At the same time, I had a job as a student assistant for a chair. For this job, I had to learn C++ and program a small tool. I was very motivated to learn something new and make a good impression. However, my best was nothing more than okay in the eyes of the brilliant people working there. I started procrastinating and doubting my intelligence.

The next semester, I started teaching again. This became easier, but the job at the chair did not. I felt that I wasn’t doing a good job, and I didn’t want to quit before setting things straight.

I fell into a depression, failing all but one exam in that semester. Suddenly, everyone seemed to be more intelligent and capable than me, and I couldn’t get out of bed in the morning.