Question for 'experts'

This may not be a forum where there are a ton of seasoned developers, but I haven’t been following it long. My question is do you feel like you are great at googling or great at programming? I’ve only been developing about 4 months, and I feel like I’m making some, emphasis on some, progress though I still have a bad case of impostor syndrome. Maybe it’s irrational, but I have the impression that great programmers are able to sit and start writing without reference. I rely heavily on references, especially for javascript and angular type stuff. Thanks, guys.

I’ve been working as a web developer for 15 years. I’ve worked with JS and Angular a lot in the past year.

Angular has pretty good learning curve. It’s totally normal to rely on the documentation. So if you can code angular apps after only 4 months, good job, you’re better than I was at that level of experience :wink:

I use Stack Overflow and github every day. If you’ve been using Angular, you know there’s a ton of angular directives out there. So before writing something from scratch, I always search what’s out there and usually I found something that matches my requirements. That’s one advantage of angular, it’s a very popular framework.

Well, not me :wink: I use ruby, rails, angular.js etc. I understand the basics of rails, creating controllers, models routes… whatever… but sometimes I’m trying something new or using a module I haven’t used in a while and I need to take a look at the doc. Nothing wrong with that.

If you were sitting next to me you would think I know nothing about sys ops on linux. I’m not an expert but I know enough about ubuntu, nginx, etc to get by. But i’m totally dependant on google or stack overflow when I hit road blocks.

Another comment related to your question:

At the interview for my current job, I was asked to explain the differences between a inner join, left join and right join in SQL.