Remote counseling (Skype/phone), for nomads

If you are a somewhat nomadic entrepreneur like me, you are probably at risk for all kinds of mental health problems. So I’m thinking it might be smart to talk to a therapist on a regular basis, even just as a precautionary measure.

But if you move around a lot, it’s not really feasible to have in-person counseling sessions with some sort of continuity. A lot of developers telecommute, but it seems still unusual for therapists to see their patients over the phone.

How do you nomads out there go about finding a good therapist who is open to do Skype/phone based counseling?

Also: Have any of you had experience with phone counseling? Any issues, or tips for overcoming the distance barrier?

I have had some experience with Skype counselling and have found that it is less stressful than travelling to and from a session. I think it is probably important for a therapist to be able to see you so that they can judge your mood which they can’t do over the phone alone. One psychiatrist told me that they find it hard to work over the phone or on Skype but that particular person is of an older generation. I personally found a good therapist who works over Skype. I am based in the UK so not sure if it would be any use to you (time differences may be prohibitive).

I don’t have experience with this. @JBMarter, do you?

Skype counseling has become increasingly popular and more an more therapists are providing it. As mentioned, the downside is that some of the nuances of in-person communication are lost and also, insurance can’t be legally billed for sessions that do not occur at the office.

At my Chicago based practice, Urban Balance (www.urbanbalance.com), we provide counseling via Skype but require that at least the initial appointment be conducted in person. If you are outside Chicago, www.therapists.com is a good resource to find a therapist and then ask if they offer Skype sessions.