Seeking career advice: moving from dev into QA?

Hi everyone,

As my username indicates, I’m burning out! I’m a developer who with close to 10 years of software development experience but not all of it has been continuous, as I was pursuing another major
career track in academia (unrelated to tech) that didn’t pan out.

I realized recently that a lot of my stress and anxiety is tied to demands inherent in the type of work I do. I hate unreasonable expectations, vague/changing specs, bad development process.The thing is, these problems exist for so many developers everywhere. The perfect dev job is realistically not going to exist for me.

I’ve been thinking about applying to some QA Engineer positions and was wondering if other folks think this is a good idea?

I already write lots of automated tests for code I produce. I find it strangely satisfying. I like the fact that the work feels much more cut and dry: tests pass or fail, and I also really enjoy debugging (I’m a freak, I know). QA seems much closer to direct problem solving than development is. From what I can tell, there is a serious lack of QA people who can write decent code to build strong test suites and such, so I would have that going for me.

I’m looking for a way to stay connected to technology, because I like it and frankly I don’t have any other viable way to make a living. But I want it to be sustainable and I feel like continuing to be a developer isn’t going to last much longer.

Any general thoughts or experiences working in QA would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks.

2 Likes

My story is a bit similar here. I am moving from Support Dev to QA.
Have done some manual testing and I’m trying to learn test automation.
I know there are people who look down on testing saying that going from dev > qa is a downgrade but I think testing is as equally important. I think you should go for it.