Should I pursue career in programming? (Not sure if good enough)

My background: I did a maths undergraduate degree and performed well including on programming modules. I also developed a PHP site with someone else. I tended to be a bit slower than average perhaps although I met course deadlines.

I started a job and my boss set me a task which I was still struggling on a few hours later. He then reassigned me to different duties saying programming was too complicated for me. I was a bit taken aback thinking it was normal to sometimes be stuck, especially at the beginning and especially after not doing PHP for 5 years.

What do you think?

1 Like

I want to start with answering your title-question right away with a big resounding YES!

Are you saying that on day one, your boss did that? It sounds like your boss and probably the company is not willing to provide guidance/training. Unfortunately, that’s one of the things we have to assume when we land any developer job. This might sound harsh but <sigh>we are ultimately responsible for fending for ourselves out there in programming.</sigh> This means that we have to spend a lot of time OFF WORK and money from our own pockets to get and CONTINUE to be educated. It’s not really a matter of not being good enough. It is a matter of whether we’re willing to sacrifice a lot of time and money for our own education in order to succeed in programming.

Even if you do not feel successful where you’re at right now, learn. Learn, no matter what. I wish you the best.

1 Like