The smallest fish in the pond?

Hi there,

I was wondering how do you deal with the nagging feeling of not being as good as others in your team?

I work with a team of very talented people. Many of them maintain or contribute to several open source projects, speak at conferences, blog, create videos or podcasts, and handle many different trendy technologies. It seems like the flow of ideas and energy never stops for them and they really enjoy what they do.

Me, on the other hand, I do a great job, I meet my deadlines, I keep myself learning and apply what I learn at work, and I constantly receive praises from my manager, but I’m not remotely as good as any of them. I feel mediocre. Nobody has told me, they don’t need to, I just know it. I don’t have interesting side projects or contribute to open source. I don’t speak at conferences and my blog is pretty much empty. In fact, I’m still learning my way through some of the technologies that this company uses, since I started working there only a few months ago.

Is it that people like me are really not cut out to do this job? I wish I could stop being mediocre and be extraordinaire, like them. I feel so insignificant. Have you ever felt this way?

It looks like you’re doing great.

How much experience do you have ? You say you’ve been there only a few months so obviously you’ve had to spend time and energy catching up and getting used to new tools and technologies. Give yourself some time to settle in.

I’ve stopped comparing myself to others. I don’t think it’s healthy. We’re all unique individuals with different goals/skills/ambitions. Just because someone else is spending time blogging doesn’t mean it’s something you have to do.

Why would you constantly receive praise from your manager if you’re mediocre ? That’s harsh.