Where do I go from here?

Hiya,

Brand new to the forum. Thought this might be a good place to air some things out and see if anyone has been in a similar situation and has any insights.

Let me start by saying that I enjoy computer science, it makes me think in interesting ways, it’s fun, and I definitely see myself having a career in it. I am a junior CS student with no prior CS internships, but work experience in other places. I was really hoping to land a summer internship going into my senior year, so I could distinguish myself and look good for the Fall career fair to get a solid job after graduation. However, after getting to the final stages of the interview process for a couple companies, they ended up going with someone else. I understand that’s just the way it goes sometimes, but it’s discouraging nonetheless.

So now I’m looking at a jobless summer and I am beginning to feel the pressure of graduating with no real CS job experiences. My parents have never placed an unreasonable amount of pressure on me and have always supported me. That being said, me not getting a job makes me feel like I am wasting my time, their time, and that I am letting them down and wasting their resources to put me through school, living expenses, etc.