Where I've been. Where I am

I am in my mid 20s, and I have been programming professionally for around 6 years (as a hobby for more than 10 years). I do remote contract work part time and work as a 9-5 software dev full time. I want to start my own small software company one day to gain more independence.

I have never had a problem getting work, and I always get complemented in my abilities and performance. But I am absolutely miserable 3 months into every job I get. Sure they aren’t perfect jobs, but I think it has more to do with me than the jobs themselves.

I have a horrible time with normal life commitments. I can go weeks without eating just because im focused on something else. I have had 2 cars towed away and owned by the towing company, because I was too preoccupied to actually go to the towing company and talk to the people to get my car back. I also have trouble making or keeping any friendships. As you probably guessed I have also never had anything close to a romantic relationship. Something that as I get older is a constant source of frustration.

I have a family history (both sides and immediate) for the following: depression, suicide, schizophrenia, bipolar, ocd, alcoholism etc.

I mainly want to learn how to meet people and not have a looming cloud of depression and thoughts of suicide plague me constantly.

Things I have tried that helped me:

• I have been doing a strength training program for 6 months now. (this has forced me to eat regularly and consistently). I have also found the workouts to be relaxing and I enjoy the optimizations involved in figuring out meal plans.
  • I use time trackers and project organizer tools to force me to get tasks done. What I use: https://trello.com/ and https://www.toggl.com/
  • I have made one friend over the course of 4 years of trying, and this has helped me a lot. I recommend a non-technical person, because someone who is very much not like you can give you a fresh perspective.