Work anxiety mid-career, will it torpedo me or will I prevail?

Hi everyone - I came across this forum when I saw one of Ed Finkler’s presentations. I work in tech (though not software development) and I have GAD (diagnosed decades ago), I have had periods of major depression as well. Some of the things he said were very well known to me:

• Having extreme emotions (anxiety) that does not match the severity of a situation.
  • Constructing bad outcomes and hyper focusing on them.
  • Feeling like people around you were getting through life with less “effort.”

I’ve worked a tech job for all of my formal career - it’s going on 17 years or something close. Work in particular has always been an anxiety catalyst though I have anxiety in general outside of work too (including social anxiety). I came up with the brilliant idea of pushing myself for growth and took a job that (after training/grace period) will have me in front of customers doing technical advisories, demos, and presentations (I work in post-sales engineering) much more so than ever before in my career, where before I would have meetings/presentations much less frequently.

Trying to focus and keep up with information overwhelm is made difficult by anxiety that derives threats from everywhere. I know I can be slower than my peer group to really come anywhere close to mastery over something (however I also sweat details and have empathy for others that is less common in peers… maybe some of those “super powers” Ed talks about).