Engineering/programming ruined my life

Hey everyone.

I have no idea how I found this site honestly. I was just going through search engines and I was looking up something after what has been a nastier anxiety attack than normal (probably because of Christmas blues), but I’ve felt the need to talk about this.

I was always seen as good with computers, and I loved programming from when I was a kid. I was seen as one of those super-intelligent types, you know, skipped a grade, etc. My parents expected good grades out of me, and yeah, emotionally and sometimes physically abused me when I didn’t. I wanted to get into a career within video games once I graduated from high school, but instead my parents kinda pushed me into software engineering.

College was alright. Better than high school. Couldn’t find a date to save my life because girls didn’t like dating engineers in my town (Las Vegas). They were more prone to wanting to spend time with the poker player/gambler types. First year or so was rough, but managed to pull through with 2 Bachelor’s degrees (Computer Engineering/Computer Science), magna cum laude, Department and University Honors and a 3.52 GPA. Got better in my Master’s degree with a 3.83 GPA in Electrical/Computer Engineering. So while my love life wasn’t looking all that great due to this career, hey, at least I could get the big money job my parents expected me to get, right?

Then the economy hit. It hit especially hard in Vegas. We got it worse than anywhere else in the U.S. but Detroit and even that was questionable. No jobs anywhere. There were few jobs in engineering when I graduated with my Master’s, and those that were were contracted. I got involved with an employment agency, Robert Half, and that was a mistake. First job offer I got was for $25k/yr. which I had to turn down because I was making almost that much with my graduate assistantship and I was working part-time!